The Club

Rams LogoRamsgate Football Club is based in East Kent, the earliest incarnation of which (Ramsgate Town) was formed about 1886, whilst the current Club reformed in 1945 after the 2nd World War (as Ramsgate Athletic – although the Athletic was dropped in 1972).

Ramsgate played in the original Kent League from their formation until the collapse of the league in 1959. The 1950s was the Club’s best period for many years, with two consecutive league titles, several county cups, and a run to the first round proper of the FA Cup. With the collapse of the Kent League the Rams migrated to the Southern League, where they initially did well but were forced to drop down to the re-formed Kent League in 1976.

Performances improved in 1988 but, despite winning the league and several cups, Ramsgate did not apply for promotion until 2004 when the Club achieved two consecutive championships (Kent League Premier Division and Isthmian League First Division). In 2005/06 they again reached the 1st round proper of the FA Cup, equalling the record from 50 years earlier, and in 2006/07 they found themselves playing in the Premier Division. Ramsgate had a very good first season in the Isthmian League Premier Division, and in the following year won the League Cup and finished in 5th place to reach the play-offs, although they were beaten 2-1 in the semi-final by Staines Town. The 3rd season in the Premier Division did not go so well, with Ramsgate moving back down to the Isthmian First Division in 2009/10. In 2010/11 the 1st team were chasing the play-off positions up to the last week of the season, but in 2011/12 another mid-table finish was achieved. Away from the 1st team four of the Club’s youth teams were crowned champions, while the ladies’ side won their divisional cup and also achieved promotion.

For 2012/13 Ramsgate again had a Reserve team in the Kent Football League, and added new senior sides added in the Kent County League and Thanet & District Saturday League, to provide the players produced by the Club as many outlets as possible. The Ladies’ team were promoted in the South East Counties Women’s League, while the Club entered a team in the Ryman Youth League and the new Kent Youth League Premier Division, in addition to the regional teams in all 5 age groups in the Kent Youth League, 9 teams in the East Kent Youth League, and 3 mini-soccer teams in the Faversham & District Friendly Series. This proved to be too much for the Club’s structure and in 2013/14 senior football consists of the 1st Team and a 2nd XI playing in the new Ryman Under 21 League.

The Club, which is an FA Charter Standard Club, also has an active community programme including holiday soccer schools, junior academy soccer skills training, and in-school coaching.

Club Officials for 2013/14:

Director (Football):
Director (Governance) & Secretary:
Director (Business Development):
Director (Commercial):
Director (Clubhouse):
Stadium & Safety:
1st team Manager:
1st team Physio:
Under 21s Manager:
KYL U18 Premier Manager:
KYL U18 South Manager:
KYL U16s Manager:
KYL U16s Coach:
EKYL U16s Manager:
KYL U14s South Manager:
KYL U14s South Coach:
EKYL U11s Manager:
EKYL U11s Asst Mgr:
EKYL U10s Manager:
EKYL U10s Colts Manager:
EKYL U10s Colts Asst Mgr:
EKYL U9s Manager:
FDFS U9s Manager:
FDFS U8s Manager:
FDFS U7s Manager:
Lord Pendry
Phil Fennell
Edward Lucas
Tony Elliott
Vic Todd
Steve Redford
Cindy Roddam
John Vahid
Martin Jefferys
Justin Luchford
Liam Beaale
Bill Kirkby
Mark Munday
Paul Meade
Rob Vinson
John Munday
Stuart McAteer
James Read
Scott Roberts
Chris O’Connor
Gallvic Walker
Paul Lamb
Matthew Trodden
Matt Keating
Paul Matthews
Stracey Sains
Martin Fennell
David Morgan



Ram of the Match v Walton & Hersham?

You must be registered in order to vote. Or please log in

  • Connor Heffernan (100%, 1 Votes)
  • Nick Shaw (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Josh Woolley (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Ira Jackson (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Jim Sherman (c) (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Ollie Canfer (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Macca Murray (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Tom Chapman (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Charlie Walsh (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Scott Punton (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Curtis Robinson (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Ollie Beard (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Stephen Butcher (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Chris Elliott (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 1

Loading ... Loading ...

Latest News